Lindy’s Blog: Where Mom is Always Right

April 29, 2009

Total fluff post

Filed under: This and that... — by lindyborer @ 7:21 am
Tags: , , , ,

And now, I’m going to talk about flowers.  This is extremely important, life-altering subject matter.  (ha) 

I simply couldn’t stand it anymore, and so yesterday, despite the un-late-April like cool weather, I loaded the kids into the car and went to the nursery to buy some of my annuals.  For the past two years, I’ve said that I’m going to go with a red and white theme for my pots, and each spring, I’ve gone to the nursery and been spell-bound by the vibrant oranges, corals, pinks and purples.  And I simply couldn’t resist them.  And by midsummer, I always feel a pang of regret that I didn’t stick to plan. 

Alas, yesterday I exercised super-human restraint by passing over those colors and adhering instead to my intended palette.  Judging from the way they look all jumbled together in their flats on my porch, I think I’ll be satisfied with them.  I ended up choosing a beautiful deep shade of scarlet geraniums (Calliope red, to be specific), some white petunias, a red Gerber daisy, some trailing variegated vinca, small-flowered and dainty white Bacopa, deep-scarlet Calibrachoa, white impatiens, and a deep-red pot carnation.  

Every year, too, I inevitably see someone’s house in a magazine decorated with a huge number of ferns in hanging baskets, and I’ll admit that I’ve scoffed at them, remarking on the money they must’ve paid for them.  (A huge fern in a hanging basket can be quite pricey.)  “You,” David remarked,  “have fern-envy.”  And as soon as he said it, I knew it was true!  I will admit it:  I am afflicted with an outrageous case of fern-envy.  I, too, want multitudes of hanging ferns surrounding my porch.  The first step toward alleviating a problem is admitting it, so I’m well on my way. 

I realize one can propogate ferns.  I will have to do this.  Except I seem to have another problem; I’m starting to accumulate too many house plants due to propogation, and ferns have to be kept inside half the year, and they’re messy.  Such a grave dilemma, I know. 

I’ll keep you updated on my progress.  But my green/brown thumb has awakened and it cannot be stopped.  Woe to anyone who gets in my way!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

