Lindy’s Blog: Where Mom is Always Right

December 29, 2008

Abortion conversion story

Filed under: Catholicism,pro-life — by lindyborer @ 1:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

As regular visitors here know, abortion and pro-life issues are frequent topics of discussion.  They lie close to the surface of my mind right now.  My interest in this area lead me to be very interested in hearing of others’ conversion stories from being pro-abortion to being pro-life.  One of the very best I’ve read (both in logic and readability) is by Jennifer F. at Conversion Diary.  In How I Became Pro-Life, she chronicles her thought process from vehement abortion supporter to pro-life advocate.  (Her blog regularly deals with her conversion to Catholicism from a life of atheism.)  One of the many powerful statements she makes (to whet your appetite):

“I was putting the burden of proof on the fetuses to demonstrate to me that they were human. . . . I would simply move the bar of what I considered human.” 

It’s just fantastic.  I strongly urge you to read it.  If you happen to be ambivalent on the topic, or if you are an abortion supporter, I really think it would be well worth your time to read it.  It isn’t threatening or insulting.  Just extremely thought-provoking.  It really ought to give all of us pause to consider or consider again the enormity of the issue.

1 Comment »

  1. This is an amazing story, so well done. Just yesterday I was reading a woman who is a Reverand in the Episcopal church who was trying to explain why she’s pro-choice. It could be summed up with, “Well, like, women should have the right, you know, to like, choose.” Oh, brother. Thank God for thinking women.

    Comment by Erin — December 30, 2008 @ 10:53 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

