Lindy’s Blog: Where Mom is Always Right

September 9, 2008

Guilty secret…

Filed under: This and that... — by lindyborer @ 5:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

…I have a real weakness for Jane Austen novels.  Okay, that’s not so bad.  But, once I’ve read the books (over and over again) I tend to want to see the movie version, and I like to watch them at night after the house goes to sleep.  Hence, I lose out on more sleep. 

Most of the time this viewing of a movie version is a huge mistake.  More great novels have been utterly ruined by a poorly made film version.  I’m sure we can all think of some example.  (Perhaps the greatest in history?  Gone With the Wind.  David agrees.  I never saw the movie until I’d read the book two times, and I had to turn it off after only 15 minutes of Vivienne Leigh’s Scarlett.  And no, I’ve never bothered to watch the rest.)  But, I’ve found that the last few film productions of Jane Austen novels have been really good, the latest being Pride and Prejudice.  And yes, I’ve been watching them the past few nights, hence my bleary and befuddled posts.  Of course, one can only see a film so many times.  For some reason, I can easily re-read books a number of times, but the same isn’t true of movies.  Does anyone know of any good “Austeny” movies?  I really like period pieces, and I’d like some suggestions, if you have any.

And, today’s “Make it stop” winner is…the constant effort seemingly being made by everyone to “raise awareness” for something and/or “empower” someone.  This has been going on for quite some time, but I do believe it has reached its saturation point.  It is losing its effectiveness.  Please, make it stop.

Sarah Palin favorite photo of the day:

1 Comment »

  1. I finally decided to write a comment on your blog. I just wanted to say good job. I really enjoy reading your posts.

    Comment by Rick Boyer — September 9, 2008 @ 5:50 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

