Lindy’s Blog: Where Mom is Always Right

September 3, 2008

Sarah Palin: Exposing the left for who they are

In my 27 years on this planet, I’ve never witnessed anything quite like what is happening with the left and Sarah Palin.  It has been nearly a week since McCain announced her as his VP nominee, and it seems that Democrats are only getting started in their full-on attack of this woman and her family.  I am completely shocked at the underhanded and malicious ways in which the left, with the mainstream media in their pocket, have pulled out all the stops in trying to destroy her.  I almost feel like I’m in high school again.  Sarah Palin is the new girl in town, the complete package.  The boys have instantly fallen for her, and the other catty, nasty girls are doing their best to force her out of town. 

But do you realize, that should Palin survive this ordeal, and should she deliver a knockout speech at the convention tonight, this adolescent behavior by the left is going to be their ultimate defeat?  Count on it. 

I’ve talked before about how Palin appeals to quite a varied portion of the voting block. (Conservatives, second-amendment people, pro-lifers, young people, women, mothers, etc…)  She resonates to a number of groups, in an authentic way.  Palin is not a career politician; she did not attend an Ivy League school.  She started out on the PTA, and went from there.  She is as close an illustration of the American Way as anyone.  Hers is a great story, and no wonder average Americans (like me) can identify with her.

Far be it to say that disgruntled Hillary supporters would make the insta-switch to Palin; they will not.  Obviously, women aren’t going to ignore differing political philosophies between two candidates based simply on anatomy.  But there are some Hillary supporters who are angry enough that just may vote for McCain due to Palin.  (Of the PUMA variety, or “Party Unity My A__”.)  And I know, (being a woman myself) that women don’t take to the idea of people beating up on other women, esp. if it comes from men.  If the left keeps up with this bilge, it will backfire on them, big time. 

As Malkin points out in her article, which I have posted below, we have the left in full Palin Derangement Syndrome mode, and that is why Palin is the best thing that could have happened for the McCain campaign.  The left is threatened by Sarah Palin.  They are making themselves look positively ridiculous.  Only a bit dog howls, as the saying goes.

Come on, all you undecideds out there!  Do you want to be a part of these low-down dirty smears against a strong, accomplished woman?  Do you want to be aligned with a party who cannot debate issues, and so resorts to personal attacks on others?  Do you want to associate yourself with a party that is exposing itself as the utmost in hyprocrisy?  No!  You’re smarter than that.

The treatment of Palin should be proof positive that the left is running scared, and that it is not the direction in which this country should go.  The negativity that permeates the Democrat party is truly quite a stench.  But I’m smelling nothing but roses from my side of the fence. 

Must reads:

http://townhall.com/columnists/MichelleMalkin/2008/09/03/the_four_stages_of_conservative_female_abuse  The Four Stages of Conservative Female Abuse

http://townhall.com/columnists/BenShapiro/2008/09/03/the_hypocritical,_woman-hating_left_targets_palin?page=full&comments=true The Hyprocritical, Woman-Hating Left Targets Sarah Palin

http://www.americanthinker.com/2008/09/sarah_palin_and_the_two_americ.html  Sarah Palin and the Two Americas

17 Comments »

  1. I agree with you in the way that we (the left) have been over-attacking Sarah Palin’s FAMILY. I think that we have the right to assume that because senator McCain has a VERY good chance of winning the nomination, and he has had cancer four times, and he is 72 — that if God forbid anything happened to him — Sarah Palin simply can’t lead the free world by being the governor of the second-least populated state in America and the farthest away from us.

    I think its stupid that we are attacking Palin’s daughter, but that’s just how politics are. You now have a chance to come back at us with Biden’s daughter’s arrest, but lets stick to the politics of it here — I just (not can the left wing) can’t see Palin as the President Of The United States. I can’t.

    pacer521, my blog is http://culturedecoded.wordpress.com/

    Comment by pacer521 — September 3, 2008 @ 8:44 am |Reply

  2. This VP pick has excited both my wife and I. We were apathetic several weeks ago, but Palin has absolutley energized us. The left is making a huge mistake is attacking her and are being dangerously dismissive of her. Clearly they are scared and this pick took them by surprise. Its disgusting how the media has jumped on the bandwagon. We’re looking forward to Palin’s speech tonight. We will be watching along with our daughters…who need to see another (thier mother is the first) example of what a woman is capable of.

    Nice blog…great comments

    Comment by Michael — September 3, 2008 @ 8:49 am |Reply

  3. i love how you keep it real lindy, way to be the FIRST blog, site…anything political that i read on a daily basis.

    dare i say, yes, i think i am going to, here goes: politics have, for the first time in my 31 years, excited me.

    i asked brent to dvr palins talk tonight in case our meeting goes long. wha? who? i am requesting a political ANYthing to be recorded to be able to watch in full.

    i CAN see Palin as President if (God forbid) anything happen to McCain. that is what is so great and amazing about this VICE president to be. I can see her in the office, so busy kickin *ss she has no time to take names and reapplying lipstick and holding the wee little one all in the first hour of business on any given day. we need a mom of many, a person educated in life as most of us live it, and someone to do it all with a smile.

    and wow. i had no idea about McCains POW details. wow. brent and i were taken aback by this guys love of country.

    {i am going to go sit and digest the fact that i just blogged about politics}

    Comment by Leah — September 3, 2008 @ 10:23 am |Reply

  4. Leah: I know what you mean! I always get like this, esp. in an election year. I’m going to be positively sick on election day. I’m honored you (and many others) read my blog, and so I always try to link to articles that really smart people write so it’s not a total waste of time for anyone. I’m going to add a picture now of Gov. Palin I think you’ll like.

    Comment by lindyborer — September 3, 2008 @ 10:56 am |Reply

  5. It’s all just politics. The left wing media talking heads(CNN, NBC, CBS) seek out and attack Republican candidates with whatever ammunition that they can find. The right wing talking heads do the exact same thing to Democratic politicians. It’s what you expect from the media vultures. To feast on the flesh of the weak while supporting their own socio-political ideologies. There is no news in America, only hundreds of opinion/editorial news magazines.

    The pregnancy of her daughter is not an issue. You can’t expect a parent to be completely responsible for their teenage-almost-a-legal-adult-child’s behavior. What are they going to do? Lock the poor girl in her room? I’m not at all surprised she has been having sex, she lives in alaska. I’m sure there are a whole lot of distractions there for a bored teen. It does not detract from Sarah Palin’s viability as a candidate.

    Unfortunately, at this point, Sarah Palin detracts from Sarah Palin’s viability as a candidate. It’s not her fault. She was just a poor choice by Johnny boy. Sure she appeals to the conservative base, but they conservative base isn’t going to elect the president this election cycle. A very conservative president just spent 8 years pushing a Neo-conservative policy and the country is none the better. Mc Cain needs to be appealing to the Independents in the center and to do that he needed a candidate who added greatly to his ticket the way Joe Biden adds experiance to Obamas. Palin only adds the strong conservative values that McCain himself lacks and that just doesn’t do it for Independants.

    I reserve my final opinion on Gov. Palin until I see her debate Sen Biden, however my expectations are low. I think it will be like watching a boxing match between Mike Tyson (Biden) and a Little Person (aka midget) in a wheel chair (Palin). I really hope I’m wrong in this reguard, but I’m not holding my breath.

    Comment by Casey Stearns — September 3, 2008 @ 11:19 am |Reply

  6. i think it quite scary: the VICE president having more experience than the PRESIDENT with the democratic duo.

    when it comes down too it, when you are in the booth voting in a gym or city building, more people will vote more conservative than for this amoeba of so called change.

    i think it quite scary: taxing beyond what any white, blue, pink, or yellow collar worker can possibly ever adjust to, instead of pushing a LET’s GET BACK TO BASIC AMERICAN ‘GOOD’ policy by way of patriotic soul and real grassroots momma.

    Comment by Leah — September 3, 2008 @ 3:24 pm |Reply

  7. The best candidate is an unwilling candidate which is what Sarah Palin is. Career politicians cannot be trusted. Palin gives us all hope that the system can be changed. Is she ready to be president? I think everybody can be ready for whatever they need to be ready for. Was Licoln ready for a Civil War? Was Kennedy ready for a Bay of Pigs? Was Roosevelt ready for Pearl Harbor? And for everybody that thought George Bush was an idiot who couldn’t speak, he did a great job with 9/11. Humans rise to the occasion. I have no fear there. I was dead set against McCain being that I am a conservative who leans Libertarian. Sarah Palin has changed all that and I’m hearing it everywhere. This race just got real exciting!

    Lindy – really like your blog, so much that I added you to my blogroll. Thanks for the comment at my place as well.

    Comment by dsgawrsh — September 3, 2008 @ 6:47 pm |Reply

  8. What a great speech by the VP pick….Sarah Palin…She is the breath of fresh air that this party and the whole nation needs…

    We shall see how the “belt way” and the “insiders” treat her in the days to come.

    Comment by trish — September 3, 2008 @ 11:03 pm |Reply

  9. Well, I forewent studying for yet another one of my approaching Board exams tonight (do they really need 6 exams charged at 1000 bucks apiece to tell me I can do my job?) to watch perhaps the most anticipated VP nominee speech in recent history, or as Oreilly said, ever. But hey, it’s my birthday today; doesn’t that give me the right to slack one night? And boy did I and all Conservative Americans get a present.

    Palin delivered tonight, big time. She’s the real deal. No poster child. And I’m pumped about the McCain-Palin ticket. But I’m even more excited about what they are going to do in Washington, God willing.

    Palin is gonna hammer Biden, if not at least hold her own. She’s one tough mother. And she’s smart and poised. But the best thing: she is GENUINE and UN-REHEARSED. She won’t be flustered b/c she will have no memorized responses, she won’t need them. She is who she is, just as McCain is who HE is, and they both KNOW who they are.

    And by the way, I’d MUCH rather have Palin in the Oval Office than Obama, any day of the week. And I’d MUCH rather have PALIN running our armed forces than Obama, not to mention my wallet.

    My best wishes to the Palin-McCain ticket!

    USA! USA! USA!

    Comment by Jon Hart — September 4, 2008 @ 12:32 am |Reply

  10. I’ve been listening to Fox News consistently for the past few weeks, so just to see what the “Left” is saying about the “McCain-Palin” ticket, I flipped my SIRIUS dial to “LEFT” radio. Enlightening mistake. As Sarah began her speech, the “commentator” consisently howled with, (and this is the only way I can describe it), demonic derisive laughter and mean spirited comments following every phrase of her speech. After only a few minutes, I could take it no longer. Examples of his comments were: When the camera went on Bristol’s fiance: “He looks like he’s going to wet himself!” When the camera went to Sarah’s baby: “He’s dead! Wake him up!” When the camera went to Sarah’s parents: “Look at the polar bear!” And whenever they referred to Sarah herself she was referred to as “Caribou Barbie”. I have never heard anything below childish on the airwaves, ever. The Left most certainly is afaid of traditionsl Christian values, family, faith and good. It seems to be as great a threat as the terrorists.

    Comment by Deemom — September 4, 2008 @ 7:32 am |Reply

  11. Amen, amen! And to dsgawrsh: I’m honored.

    Comment by lindyborer — September 4, 2008 @ 7:33 am |Reply

  12. Mom: That’s horrible. We must have been posting at the same time. Let it be a reminder of who and what we’re up against.

    Comment by lindyborer — September 4, 2008 @ 7:36 am |Reply

  13. I agree with Obama that families should be off limits and that Palin’s daughter should be left alone. However the scrutiny over Sarah Palin’s political history and overall intelligence is fair. I respectfully disagree with you on the fact that any of this treatment of Palin in the past week and a half does anything to prove she belongs anywhere near Washington. I can see where her beliefs may inspire true conservatives, but her political experience makes Barack Obama look like Thomas Jefferson. And remember, we are electing Presidents and Vice Presidents, not purely individuals who have family values. If that’s what we base Presidential Experience on then they could have nominated millions of mothers with an equal education.

    Comment by theclimaxan — September 6, 2008 @ 3:02 pm |Reply

  14. I personally don’t listen to either liberal or conservative radio/tv hosts because
    they share one important thing in common. They are mostly angry. Want to be
    angry? Listen to angry people tell you why you should be angry.

    I am so tired of the Carl Rove play book….get everyone polarized, angry, and
    shoot for 50.1% of the electorate. I didn’t vote for any of the Clintons, and
    mostly because they intentionally did the same thing. How can we build a
    better country unless we strive to find, support, and nurture what we have in
    common as a community?

    Obama has that rare quality to speak of what we can do, and not why we need
    to push against the conservatives or liberals. Oh sure, angry people will stay
    angry. I just dare to dream of someone who will mend bridges, and not seek to
    simply polarize.

    Hey, could I be wrong about Obama? Well maybe. At 56 years old I am experienced
    enough to never be entirely sure about anything or anybody. I do know that
    it makes sense to try something different after 8 years of what is probably the
    worst administration in our nation’s history. Senator McCain for all his talk
    is just more of the same. 100 years in Iraq if necessary? No way.

    Comment by Brett Pavel — September 7, 2008 @ 9:42 am |Reply

  15. Inreponse to Brett
    Obama is not unifying. I was impressed the first time I saw him. I thought maybe he meant what he said.
    Now it is clear to me he is devisive. He talks one way to one crowd and changes his story when he is with a different group. You should do your own research and be sure you are informed. One thing I don’t understand with Obama, Rev. Wright, Bill Ayers and so many others trying to help Chicago why is there so much crime and murder in Chicago???? Also why does he speak so badly of my country that I love.It does not comfort me that our enemies want him elected. Do you know what his positions are on anything besides Iraq. Does it bother you he tried to get Iraq to wait until after the election to start our troop withdrawal??? Iraq’s foriegn minister statement. At least I know McCain loves our country. Obama is a citizen of the world in his own words in Germany. I don’t know about you but I am a citizen of the U.S. I don’t want U.N. to rule our country and I don’t agree with givig U.S. money to the U.N. to end poverty in the world. Look at what Oprah has done in Africa with her own money. How much does Obama give to charity of his own money? Just food for thought.

    Comment by Karen Warren — September 20, 2008 @ 5:12 pm |Reply

  16. Lindy….The election is over and Obama and Biden have won, decisively. I just now stumbled onto your blog and have read with astonishment your 9/3 entry about the way the left and the liberal media have sought to destroy her. YET you failed to cite one item or act by the left and media to support your claim. I am curious..what are you talking about? It is certainly appropriate for her decision to seek removal of sex education from the Alaska school system to be called into question now that it is revealed her own daughter is knocked up out of wed lock. I personally don’t care if her daughter is pregnant, I further don’t care if she never marries as long as she doesn’t expect, ever in her life, public assistance to support her and the child as a single parent? There is a high level of hypocracy there which many of us who support sex education in public schools cannot simply sit back and say “Oh well” about. This seems to be a natural progression of events under the circumstance. SO if that is one of those mean things being hurled at Mrs. Palin I am stunned you would have such a extreme reaction. And if you are referring to the question of her experience (lack of)being cited by the left and media as questionable for a VP candidate…what is your problem with that? The Republican party was like a run away train railing and ranting about the lack of experience of Obama. If these two issues aren’t it what are you talking about that has shocked you so in your 27 years? I suppose as a 65 year old who has lived through Vietnam with many family losses in that wasted war (set into motion by a democratic administration), the assasination of one president, an attorney general and a prominent civil rights figure all by right wing zealots I find the questioning and critcism of Palin small potatos by comparison.. If Barack Obama’s daughter had shown up pregnant out of wed lock the Don Imus crowd (Limbaugh, Drudge, Hannity) would have gone balitic on that one. “Nappy-headed ho’s”!! I can just hear it now…. and you know it’s true!
    Be that as it may I’d like to know what horrid acts the left and liberal media have pulled on Mrs. Palin you would cite to back up your claims that the left and liberal media are seeking to destroy her.
    In addition to that, now that the election is over and Mrs. Palin has returned to Alaska have you noticed that the worst kind of vilification is coming from the McCain camp. Surely the left and liberal media cannot compare in derision to what has come out from the Republican party in the last 24 hours. “The Wasilla hillbillies on an out of control spending spree at Neiman Marcus”. Wow!!! I don’t believe the left and media even came close to the smears the right and republicans have laid on her and Todd in since late evening of Nov 4th!! “Whack job!!!!” Please!!!!
    All that said even though I am a democrat and thrilled at the political democratic sweep of Tuesday’s election I think once Sarah Palin recovers from the campaign, has some down time, and regroups she will find her true self and emerge a much better person and certainly a promising political figure. She has learned the hard way what a left wing friend said to me the day of her nomination to VP, “If the republicans loose they will eat her alive.” The feeding frenze started by midnight of Nov. 4-5. I hope she rejects all those old 20th century dinosaurs and reinvents herself and leads the republican party anew into the infant 21st century. She is smart, a fast learner and waged a great campaign for such a novice. I wish her well, her family and political career!

    Comment by americanexile — November 6, 2008 @ 4:27 pm |Reply

  17. americanexile:

    It seems you failed to read previous posts in my blog to that entry you read, and obviously failed to read the articles linked to at the bottom of that post, detailing the sort of treatment Palin received instantly upon being chosen as vp nominee. So, I would suggest you go back and read up. Context, context.

    Obviously, many—numbering in the millions and including many Democrats—didn’t and don’t revile Sarah Palin. This is all history now, but perhaps you don’t recall the multiple slandering of Palin on the part of left-wing blogs (Daily Kos, for one) , who smeared her unfairly and mercilessly, and heard those disgusting smears repeated by mainstream media sources who are supposed to be objective and have at least some sense of integrity and decorum. There are still people who persist in their thinking that Palin’s baby son is not hers, but her daughter’s. They attacked her for accepting the nomination because she had kids. As Malkin points out: “Hollywood savaged Sarah Palin. Journalists mocked her. Liberal blogs slimed her. Opponents cursed her, Photoshopped her, hacked her e-mail, hanged her in effigy, called her a bigot, Bible-thumper, and bimbo, and attacked her husband and children.” There are entire blogs out there dedicated to none other than slandering and spreading their hatred of Palin, who has shown nothing but tenacity during the campaign. As for the experience question: I was merely pointing out that the attacks on Sarah Palin’s “lack of” experience were hilarious and hypocritical, given that the lack of experience on Obama’s part were not even allowed to enter into discussion.

    To be honest, I find it almost unbelievable that you fail to recall any of that.

    To conjecture what someone “would have said” is faulty and pointless, when you bring up Rush, or Hannity. I doubt you have ever listened to Rush in your life. He is one of the least bigoted people on earth. And to simply lump him (or Hannity) into the same category as Imus is further evidence of your faulty hypothetical musings.

    As for the McCain camp cowards who are saying these things of her, shame on them, but they in no way represent the conservatives in this country, who backed McCain out of necessity rather than out of total agreement of his quasi-conservatism. Moderate Republicans like McCain, while good and honorable, do in no way represent what the Republican party has been in the past, and what conservatives want. So, yes, we do want people like Palin to continue to step forward for our party, and to bring back basic values to the representatives of this country. (like the right to LIFE, something President Elect Obama fails miserably at.)

    Palin is a true patriot and has a good head on her shoulders. She will survive this and come out on top.

    Comment by lindyborer — November 7, 2008 @ 8:19 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

